My Sinulog Miracle

As promised in my previous blog, I will share to you a miracle that happened to my family about a year ago today (Jan18,2013) during the Sinulog festivities in Cebu City. So here it goes.

We were having a Garage Sale For A Cause together with my Let It ECHO family at The Persimmon, Mabolo, Cebu City as part of our fund raising activities for my daughter’s open heart surgery last year. One of the Sinulog activities that time was the parade of the image of the blessed Sr. Sto. Niño where everyone who joins the parade gets to bring their own graven image or sculpture of Sr. Sto. Niño. After the parade has ended, some of the people who joined the said parade came by to spend time with their family as there was also a bazaar happening that time at The Persimmon.

Untitled

One old lady dropped by our spot to check some of the items in our garage sale. She was holding in her hands a sculpture of the Sto. Niño that was about two (2) feet tall and it kinda looked old.

Out of curiosity, I asked “Dugay na ni nga Sto. Niño nang?” (Ma’am, is this Sto. Niño antique?) She answered, “Oo, gikan pa ni sa akong mga katigulangan.” (Yes, this has been passed on from one generation of our family to another.) I asked her again, “Pwede ko mogunit?” (Do you mind me holding the Sto. Niño?) She politely answered, “Oo gunit lang.” (Go ahead.)

I am normally cynical about all these answered prayers or wishes that come true or miracles. I don’t know what’s gotten into me but as I held the hand of the blessed Sto. Niño, I said a little prayer in my head that went like this:

“Many people said that you are miraculous and that you answer many prayers. I’m not sure if you will hear my prayer, you see I wasn’t born Catholic so you might not even know who I am. But if in case you will hear me out, can you please heal my daughter? Can you tell me how or where can we find the lacking amount we need for her open heart surgery?”

After that, I thanked the lady and away she went about the venue.

The day ended and I really didn’t bother about the prayer I said earlier that day. I shrugged it off. I didn’t believe in miracles but I tried praying anyways thinking it wouldn’t hurt and it wont even cost me anything.

Two weeks have passed we received a confirmation from one of our friends that we can stay in his apartment when we get to Manila for the surgery. Perfect! The apartment is a convenient 15-minute train ride from the Chinese General Hospital where Gabrielle will have her open heart surgery. But wait, there’s more! That same week we have received yet another great news! The Gift of Life Foundation through the initiative of my daughter’s surgeon, Dr. Karl Reyes, pledged financial assistance worth P110,000 (roughly $2,600)! That was all the lacking amount we need to finally get a schedule for Gabrielle’s open heart surgery! Hence, the appointment was set on February 18, 2013 (four days after Valentine’s Day) at 7:00am — and the rest was history.

Some people say that there are no miracles. They say that these are just mere coincidences. But come to think of it, coincidences happen when one starts to pray. Of course, after praying you’ve also got to do your part by working on it. Unlike in fairytales, miracles don’t happen in just one snap of a finger. It doesn’t work that way here in the real world. I am not forcing you to believe in miracles but yes, the story you have just read is one. Gabrielle is my miracle! What’s yours? 🙂

Your thoughts here...

